Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Gaging Interest

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Gaging Interest

Hi there, I am totally new here and to this whole hiking business lol. I am a masters student studying Anthropology in the United Kingdom, I'm looking to do a PhD on the counter-culture, beliefs, traditions, readjustments to society afterwards of 'Thru-Hikers' or any kind of long distance hiker for that matter. I'm merely posting here to gage the interest, whether the community would welcome the project with open arms or shun it (similar to Frankenstein's Monster)?

Many thanks and much love, Kieran aka. Oppenheimer.
    • Oppenheimer wrote:

Hi there, I am totally new here and to this whole hiking business lol. I am a masters student studying Anthropology in the United Kingdom, I'm looking to do a PhD on the counter-culture, beliefs, traditions, readjustments to society afterwards of 'Thru-Hikers' or any kind of long distance hiker for that matter. I'm merely posting here to gage the interest, whether the community would welcome the project with open arms or shun it (similar to Frankenstein's Monster)?

Many thanks and much love, Kieran aka. Oppenheimer.

I am just a section hiker, perhaps a LASHer (sometimes 4 to 7 weeks at a time), but having done a dissertation myself, I would certainly be willing help out if possible. As for thru hikers I believe it would be across the board. Some would love to talk/chat/whatever with you and help you out. On the other end there will be those that will not want to give you the time of day. Just realize that and make the most of the ones willing and do not get too put off by those who are not.
      The road to glory cannot be followed with much baggage.
      Richard Ewell, CSA General
    • Oppenheimer wrote:

Thanks! Is there anywhere I can go to find out about more about the culture?