Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Missing hiker on Mt. Adams found dead

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• BirdBrain wrote:

There are those that have no plans, those that have poor plans, those that say they have no plan but in fact have terrific plans (I am still learning from that group), those that think they have good plans but are really not prepared at all, those that plan so much that they never go, and then there is me. When I strike out on an adventure, I try to be as prepared as I can be so as to maximize the enjoyment of the trip. Do like I do and you run the risk of being called arrogant and disrespecting nature. What is my point? Regardless of what you do, someone is going to think you are an idiot. I have strong opinions about her choices too. However, being in the middle of such debates online, I no longer see the profit in expressing them. It is my prayer that people would learn from others and not the hard way. As I expressed to TwistWrist when she first came on this site, there are very knowledgeable people here. They are the ones that can help you have success on your hikes. However, it can be difficult to gain that knowledge from them because of the attitude they have towards those that know less than them. Ignorant people need knowledge. I know. I am that person often. Those that know better, need perspective. I know. I have been on the receiving end. I have learned from that. I have gained perspective. And for that I am thankful.

and so theres nothing to be learned here?
      again, i'd like to find out what her and her husbands thoughts were before she ventured out. was she testing her limits, fully aware of the dangers? or was she just naive and overconfidant, something most of us have been guilty of.
      its all good
    • hikerboy wrote:

BirdBrain wrote: