Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

One sentence piece of advice - and hi!

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• One sentence piece of advice - and hi!

TrafficJam told me about this friendly forum. Hey! I'm Ally! I'm a complete hiking noob who's always up for the next challenge in life. Now my challenge is to learn to hike, relish a new challenge/adventure, and live without a rigid schedule at this natural fork in my life. I have every opportunity to do it and nothing holding me back other than the "save for retirement rational side" who sometimes fears failure. I need to do this. I've needed it for a couple of years now, and the Universe is making things fall into place for now.
      I'm full of stupid questions. I am an elementary teacher, so I should say there are no stupid questions. But there are, and I've asked most of them. :)

So, here's my first question. If you could sum up in one sentence the BEST piece of advice you could offer a noob, what would it be? Include as much info in your sentence as you can! Winner gets a gold star. :P
      www.appalachiantrailclarity.com - Life on the A.T.

Sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere, and sometimes in the middle of nowhere, you find yourself.
    • I was only allowed one sentence, so I could not explain it. :) All I am saying is be patient with those that have the answers. It will be worth it. There are a million answers. You will ultimately have to decide what is right for you. But go to experience for those million options.
      Non hikers are about a psi shy of a legal ball.
    • twistwrist wrote:

So, here's my first question. If you could sum up in one sentence the BEST piece of advice you could offer a noob, what would it be? Include as much info in your sentence as you can! Winner gets a gold star. :P