Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

lightning

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• I've heard that some people are more prone to getting stuck than others and I'm a firm believer in that.
      1) in the late 80's I was a firefighter near Pittsburgh. During a bad storm we were dispatched to a fully engulfed barn fire. I was operating the pump when a bolt of lightning struck a nearby tree. My battilion chief and I awoke moments later under the engine, more less hugging one another while asking if we were ok.
      2) In the Mid 90's I was in my garage building a bookshelf. I was using a palm sander when lightning hit the power pole in front of the house. I was launched backwards and landed on my ass.
      3) Late 90's i was working as a cop in metro atlanta. I was sitting in my patrol car under a street light in a parking lot waiting out a storm. A bolt of lightning hit the pole then my car. The car engine and radios shorted out. I had to get the car towed....
      So in other words stay the hell away from me during a storm.
      RIAP
    • Trebor wrote:

I've heard that some people are more prone to getting stuck than others and I'm a firm believer in that.
      1) in the late 80's I was a firefighter near Pittsburgh. During a bad storm we were dispatched to a fully engulfed barn fire. I was operating the pump when a bolt of lightning struck a nearby tree. My battilion chief and I awoke moments later under the engine, more less hugging one another while asking if we were ok.
      2) In the Mid 90's I was in my garage building a bookshelf. I was using a palm sander when lightning hit the power pole in front of the house. I was launched backwards and landed on my ass.