Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Low cost Pack options?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Low cost Pack options?

So I'm new to all this, but looking for a low cost pack. I want one thats of reasonable quality though too. Nothing fancy, just durable and comfortable enough. So far I've browsed walmart online and ebay.

Does anyone know other places I could look? Also suggestions on whats a good pack even? Is the walmart quality even worth my time? Or are they decent??
      "You've got what it takes. But it will take everything you've got."
    • Low cost Pack options?

Walmart equipment is generally cheap quality & heavy. You really don't want to skimp on your big three: pack, sleeping bag & shelter. Keep an eye out on TOS for people selling used gear. I would also reccoment signing up for sales emails with outfitters: REI, EMS, Mountain Gear, Campmor,Altrecs... Packs are like shoes. People fit differently. I would suggest borrowing from friends or renting to figure out what works for you before you buy.
    • Low cost Pack options?

since they moved to a direct to consumer business model i always check golite when researching equipment.

if this is your first pack you may be better served by shopping at a physical store rather than online. you can walk around the store with weight in the pack and the sales clerk can show you how to make any necessary adjustments.
      2,000 miler
    • Re:Low cost Pack options?