Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Hiking & Biking

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Re:Hiking & Biking

grayblazer wrote:

I remember the 1st time I started riding my mountain bike in NC. I was riding downhill thinking this is awesome. This is fantastic, this is what I've always wanted to do. As soon as I hit my 1st incline, I remember thinking this is dumb, this is stupid, who would ever want to do this. I was able to ride uphill a little more each day. I am a flat lander although there are some 100' hills around G'ville.

The downhills make the uphills all worth it.
      Lost in the right direction.
    • Hiking & Biking

grayblazer wrote:

I remember the 1st time I started riding my mountain bike in NC. I was riding downhill thinking this is awesome. This is fantastic, this is what I've always wanted to do. As soon as I hit my 1st incline, I remember thinking this is dumb, this is stupid, who would ever want to do this. I was able to ride uphill a little more each day. I am a flat lander although there are some 100' hills around G'ville.

Great life lesson in there. If want the joy of riding down hill, at some point you got to do the work to get up the hill.
      The road to glory cannot be followed with much baggage.
      Richard Ewell, CSA General
    • Hiking & Biking

Astro wrote:

grayblazer wrote:

Great life lesson in there. If want the joy of riding down hill, at some point you got to do the work to get up the hill.

Or get someone to ride you to the top of the hill (Ala; The Creeper). Next time I ride the Creeper, I'm just gonna ride up the hill. It's such a no incline. The swimming/wading spots are great. Crazy Larry sure gets into washing that mud off the female bike riders. I would, too.
    • Hiking & Biking

grayblazer wrote:

I feel that way with running. I hate trying to run up hill.