Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

The trekking pole thread.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Yea, the "correct rhythm" thing is bogus. The terrain of the trails is so irregular, I usually can't have a regular pole rhythm. And when it is, that's when I'm walking pretty fast and I don't want to pole that fast. I'm just as likely to plant the poles in time with the song I'm singing in my head. Last July, that song was oddly enough this one quite often.

youtube.com/watch?v=QiFAaKeyTCM
    • I've been hiking since the mid 1970s. Nobody used poles back then, except for winter hiking, where they're the norm. I think it was 2002 when I picked up a pair of Lekis, and used them on a weekend hike near Hanover. Since then I used them pretty much 100% of the time. Same pair.

If the trail is extremely flat and level, they don't serve much purpose. I sometimes just carry them in one hand. If the trail is extremely steep, such that hands are needed -- they're folded and attached to the outside of the pack. On the AT, overall, I find poles are useful about 95% of the time. I don't think much about "poling technique" but just do whatever comes naturally. I've been a skier most of my life, so maybe poles seem more natural in any case.

The first thing I noticed when I started using them is that I can walk more upright, without that forward hunch that one often assumes with a backpack on. Having one or two extra connections to the ground means less chance of falling due to tripping on a root or sliding off a gravelly spot (etc.) It's a good way to get my upper body a bit more involved in the hike.

Apparently not everyone likes using poles. I can't tell if that's because they "don't know how to use 'em right" or if it's just a matter of pride.