Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Starting to consider/plan a LASH on the AT

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Starting to consider/plan a LASH on the AT

Hi, I’m new here. I have been backpacking for several years but a couple hundred mile thru hikes is the longest I have done. I have dreamed of hiking the AT for several years now but never really had the opportunity. I am just wanting to do about a 500 mile trip right now. I have a few health issues and will not be a fast hiker. Probably 10-15 miles a day tops. I am thinking start at the beginning at springer and walking 500 miles. I am considering this for 2025. When would be the best time to start. I don’t want to be in the big crowds as they start but I want to start at a decent time for weather/temps as well. Where I hike it is very solitary and I’d really like to avoid big crowds of hikers as much as possible. Any suggestions on best time and possibly even doing another 500 mile section. I do not live close to the AT at all so I know very little about the weather on the trail and logistics but trying to research and learn.
    • Poca2525, Welome to the Cafe!

I hiked the AT over 10 years NoBo (Nov 2010 to July 2021). Usually 2-4 weeks a year, but one was less than a week, another nearly 7 weeks. And of course nothing in 2020.

I would recommend starting at Springer NoBo (skip Approach Trail) at beginning of May. 500 miles is a good target, but I would plan finishing around public transportation (preferably train stations, busses are the next best). Significant cost and time savings by planning appropriate begin/end of sections based on logistics.

Advice start slow and build up. If you want to average 10-15. Start out 7-10, and after a month you could be doing 15-20.

Other advice:
      • Research and buy lite weight gear (investment that pays dividends every mile you walk)