Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Hiking half the AT starting in June 2024...suggestions welcome

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Hiking half the AT starting in June 2024...suggestions welcome

I'm planning on hiking the AT during my summer break 2024 (I'm a teacher) so any thoughts on where to start? If I start at Springer, will it be too warm?

I figure I'll start around June 3 and hike until early/mid August. I figure I can do almost half of the AT and then do the other half in the summer of 2025. I welcome your insight! Thanks!!

The post was edited 2 times, last by Stinkfinger ().

• Well if your two summer dates will always be early June, you will be dealing with heat.

It would be nice to start in Maine going south but I don't think Baxter SP is open for overnight camping until mid-June. Perhaps you could shuttle in when they open in the early morning. Hike up with day pack (leaving most of your pack with the rangers), back down to camp or to grab your pack and hike on. Not sure you could then hike out of the park to camp outside of it. Others here will chime in.

You could start at Harpers Ferry and hike north. It will be warm. See how far north you get.
      You could start at Springer and it will be warm. You'd be a month behind most anyone else but services should still be available (shuttles, hostels).
      Others on here with a LOT more first hand knowledge will offer better advice.

Best of luck.
      Pirating – Corporate Takeover without the paperwork
    • Hello Stinkfinker. Welcome to the Café! New members get a dancing banana. gif.014.gif