Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

AT Start Date?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• AT Start Date?

Thoughts on best months to start a NOBO thruhike?
      Observations after following many vlogs and journals:
      January - Most don't seem to last long
      February - Smokys can be problematic
      March - Crowded
      April - Time crunch to get to Katahdin without flip-flopping
      Contemplating a 2024 Thru-hike at age 62, Not fast but still strong
      500 miles of section hikes under my belt since 2011, always in June, July, or August as I was a teacher
      Thanks for your suggestions. Grateful to join your community.

"We don’t stop hiking because we grow old, we grow old because we stop hiking"

The post was edited 1 time, last by Forward ().

• Welcome to the Cafe Wintergreen,
      I think the beginning of April would be a fine time to start. The weather should be improving, the trees budding, and you still have a full six months to reach Katahdin.
      You will still be part of the 'bubble,' so crowds are a given. But that isn't all negative, and if you want you should always be able to find your own space on the trail.
      Bet you will catch up to many of the hikers who left earlier and spent all their money in hotels escaping winter weather.
      You must be pretty excited to be planning your thru hike!
      Please keep us up-to-date on how it goes.

Scott
      “Of all sad words of tongue or pen,
      the saddest are these, 'It might have been.”

John Greenleaf Whittier
    • April should be fine. You have researched and posted the major issues with each of those months. If you start in the first half of April, if you hike 5 months it's still early September. Issues (Closed trails, closes for overnight camping) in Maine should not be an issue yet.