Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Sheltowee Trace Trail

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• My heart broke a little when I studied the map and realized the next 10+ miles is along the big river and “slow going” per reports. I’ll probably switch up my strategy for that section.

Far Out should have the STT finished in the next few weeks and the STT Association is making a guide.

It’s only been slightly frustrating at times but I’m enjoying having to rely on maps for navigation and planning (and blazing of course). I also read the “Notes” for the Challenge participants which is helpful.
      Lost in the right direction.
    • from FB Sheltowee trace association

"We were down on the Sheltowee looking into a navigational problem on Wilson Ridge yesterday. There are still hikers who are following Wilson Ridge as if its the Trace the old way around. Some are even missing the sign back into the woods. We are going to put up more signs, paint some road blazes. The trouble seems to be that hikers are using All Trails and other apps that have the old trail route on them. Bad idea. We have the map reroute available on our webpage for Wilson Ridge. Please use this resource and put away your phone in this area. Above all, please don't get into a shouting match with the locals. Here are some photos of the trail head going back into the woods toward Blue Heron. Notice the blaze on the support."
      its all good
    • hikerboy wrote:

from FB Sheltowee trace association