Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

2019 or 2020 Outback

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• my outbacks only options were a set of Thule crossbars for the roof rack (haven't mounted yet) and all weather floor liners (which i love). the touring edition comes with most major options anyway. i still may get a trailer hitch, but that's about it.

a word about eyesight and such other driver-assist stuff:

i don't have a lot of experience with it, but i purposely left eyesight 100% on so i'd get the full effect. otherwise how would i evaluate it? at first all the beeping at me was annoying and i didn't know what most of was for, so i studied the books (if you expect to learn you gotta put in some effort, right?). so now after only 500 miles or so, the the thing beeps at me very rarely. so i guess that means i'm a better driver (according to eyesight).

a few weeks ago i predicted i would turn off most of eyesight. today, i'm pretty sure i'll leave it all on. i don't think it's about being smarter, i think it's about gentle (or not so gentle) reminders. like when at a stop light and i'm fiddling with the radio or something, the little beep telling me the car in front has moved off is much better than the horn blowing of the inpatient driver behind me. or the time i almost backed into the path of another car because the truck next to me was blocking my view. yeah, it freaked me out to have the car "not so gently" stop itself, but it was much better than the imminent fender bender (or worse). i've mentioned the adaptive cruise control before, but i continue to be impressed with it. maybe not smarter than me (i tell myself), but certainly more attentive.

the only advice i have is: don't knock it until you've tried it (i was guilty of that) and don't be surprised to learn this scary electronic stuff is pretty damn smart. that's all folks!