Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

AMC Huts in the White Mountains

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• AMC Huts in the White Mountains

Before staying in the Galehead and Zealand Falls Huts last week, I really didn't know what to expect. So now that I have some experience, I'll share it here in hopes that it helps someone with their first visit to an AMC Hut. I reserved my bunk space months in advance, so I can't offer any tips for last minute or walk-in reservations.

The croo

The croo is the crew. Both huts had 5-person croos with one croo member having a day off. Bigger huts have bigger croos. One croo member is responsible for cooking each day. The other croo members may be hanging out, day hiking, or heading to the nearest trailhead to pick up perishable supplies. Yep... that chicken breast you had for dinner was schlepped up the mountain on the back of one of the croo.

Check In

On any given day, there may only be one croo member in the hut when you arrive. On weekends, the AMC offers members the opportunity to serve as a volunteer at any of their lodging facilities. The volunteer (Mike) I met at Zealand Falls explained that it's a higher tier work-for-stay: you assist the croo and check-in the arriving guests in exchange for meals and a bunk. Want to spend weekends in the Whites for free? Become an AMC member and put your name on the volunteer list!

Anyway, after providing your name to the croo member or volunteer, you will be given your bunk room assignment and a quick rundown on the facility. There were signs in the Galehead Hut asking guests to leave the bottom bunks for those who need them.

Bunks