Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Advice on taking dog on section hike

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Advice on taking dog on section hike

I have a Chocolate lab that's 7 years old, very healthy and wants to play all day. He's a bit overweight..about 15 lbs. the vet said but I'm sure just like
      me after a few miles we'll both lose a few lbs. He's too heavy to pick up..approx. 130 lbs..and the question is this. I'm moving to NH soon and wanted to do some of the northern end of VT and the lower end of NH...stopping before the Whites. Where in Vt. is the ladder on the trail and is there an alternate path around it? Also are there any other obstacles that may keep us from accomplishing approx. 100 miles there? I'm new at this so forgive me if this is in the wrong place or has been discussed. I couldn't find it anywhere else. I'm thinking perhaps the Greenwall shelter in VT to the Hexacuba shelter in NH but nothing cast in stone yet. Thanks to all for any helpful advice!! :thumbup:
    • My experiences regarding hiking with dogs is quite extensive. #1 is to get the weight off your dog. Joint issues and heat stress are common with overweight and unconditioned dogs. Get the dog and yourself in shape prior to an extended hike.

Lest we forget.....

SSgt Ray Rangel - USAF
      SrA Elizabeth Loncki - USAF
      PFC Adam Harris - USA
      MSgt Eden Pearl - USMC
    • My wife and I have been hiking with dogs for years. Presently we have a 90 pound shepherd.