Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Hiking the Taconic Highlands- Beginner hiker

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Hiking the Taconic Highlands- Beginner hiker

Hi everyone- I am a bit new to the whole world of hiking. I am planning a small hike on the Taconic Highlands Trail, which I heard was 16.9 miles long. I was wondering if anyone knew where exactly you can pick this trail up and where exactly it ends. Also, is it relatively easy for a beginner hiker?

Any feedback or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

-MB ^^
    • Welcome to the cafe!
      Is this the trail you're asking about?

"A high-elevation plateau ringed by cliffs and cascading waterways, the Taconic Highlands are home to old-growth forest, waterfalls, and a 17-mile stretch of the AT that doesn’t cross a single road. En route, it passes over the open summits of Mount Race and 2,624-foot Mount Everett, the second highest peak in Massachusetts. Eight designated shelters and camping areas, plus ready dayhiking access from Route 41 in the Housatonic Valley below, make for endless day-hiking options. Try the six-mile trip up the Race Brook Falls Trail, north over Mount Everett, and down the Elbow Trail."
      Lost in the right direction.
    • TrafficJam- Yes that's the one! From that description it seems a little advanced. I am wondering if it will be doable for a beginner hiker like myself. Mind you, I'm not the strongest person, but I am working to get physically fit for this hike.

LIhikers- thank you! I will look this up more in detail.
    • According to AWOL's AT Guide, it starts at mile 1495 of the AT in Salisbury CT and ends at Jug End, mile 1512.

There's parking at Undermountain Rd. (near Salisbury) and Jug End Rd, per the guide (check the ATC website to see if this is on the list of places where it's unsafe to park).