Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

my laptop has failed

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• JimBlue wrote:

Well, my widows 10 computer updatd o improve my computing experiene by lchanging firefox to use a different search engine, and blocked the insall of any software... argh.

Typing this on a tablet.
      i feel your pain...i just got a new phone and have gone from a physical keyboard to a touchscreen. wrote my first text on it this morning -- soooo many typos!
      2,000 miler
    • rafe wrote:

Wise Old Owl wrote:

Before Hewlett Packard there were Nixi tube calculators - some weigh 30 pounds

[IMG:http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2MlgxNjAw/z/YegAAOSwrmdTrY3l/$_35.JPG]
      We had one of these bolted to a table in the Engineering library when I was a student working on my BSEE. Anyone remember Wang?
      Vera Wang?
      I am human and I need to be loved - just like everybody else does
    • I was once the "IT guy" (before they were called that) in an office of 30+ people. We had a Wang mini computer with 3 large units containing stacked platters (5?) of discs which gave us something on the order of 200Mb of data.
      The computer and drives were in their own secure room with two large air conditioning units that ensured a constant temperature and humidity.
      I had 6 weeks of training to do the job.
      Resident Australian, proving being a grumpy old man is not just an American trait.
    • Ah, I hated Vista wehen it came out, but at least this computer is working !

The first computer I helped maintain was a DEC VAX 11/730. It had vacuum tube terminals. And a 132 column green bar printer.

No way to save homework to outside the computer, except print it out.