Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Newbies in Georiga in May

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Newbies in Georiga in May

My husband and I are wanting to do a segment in May starting at the beginning. We are looking at doing a 5-7 day hike. We are complete newbies and looking for any advice. We are planning on doing some local overnight hikes to try and prep for it in late winter early spring, but have a ton of questions!

1) where would be a good.pick up point?

2)are there designated spots. For camping?

3) what must have equipment do we need?

And...

4) what about bears???

loom
    • Pick up point will vary on duration of your trip, daily milage & if you do the approach trail. Some possible points/Hogpen Gap GA348 at trail mile 39, Unicoi Gap GA 75, mile52.9. I reccomend. If you pick up Awol's Guide. It will list all road crossings.

I reccomend picking up either Awol's guidbook or the ALDHA Companion. You should be able to find them in most outdoor stores in GA

Check here for info on sleeping bags & pack. it'a a fairly new section for us & were adding stuff to it.

Before you go out & spend a fortune I'd reccomend checking in outdoor shops to see what they have for rental equipment. I'd also keep an eye on ebay. Lots of people that start a thru-hike decide it's not for them & sell their gear in spring. Another online site is facebook.com/groups/BearfootsHikingGearFleaMarket/.

Equipment needed:
      Tent
      Sleeping Bag
      Sleeping pad

Backpack
      Water treatment; Aqua Mira or sawer Mini filter are probably two most popular types right now. Many don't treat. Choice is up to you.
      Stove
      cook pot & utensils
      map & compass
      headlamp
      Raingear

You can pretty much camp where you want, although most people camp by the shelters since there are near water sources.