Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

Running the Palmetto Trail

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Running the Palmetto Trail

Dmax wrote:

This article is about the 3 hikers in the Smokeys a few weeks ago. Well, maybe I shouldn't be calling them hikers...

I'm new at long distance hiking in winter weather and even I have heard the saying "Cotton Kills." Why would anyone be carrying canned food though? I have never met a hiker anywhere that carries cans because of the weight and the absurd amount of waste to pack out. Then again they would probably just throw their cans into the fire and think "It will melt away." Hate when people do that.
      "You might not get everything you want out of life, but you will get exactly what you need!"-Dakota Joe 2006

Dmax wrote:

It wasn't too long ago people wore cotton. .. They might have saved a 911 call if they all had a 0* sleeping bags and a shelter.