Welcome to the AppalachianTrailCafe.net!
Take a moment and register and then join the conversation

What should my next sleeping bag or quilt be

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• What should my next sleeping bag or quilt be

Just wanted to post something here to get the section going.

I currently have a Big Agnes Deer Park 30 degree down bag. It's a long and big guy bag, but I am a side sleeper who hates being constricted. I am only 5'8" but have big shoulders (44 jacket), so the bag is for the most part way too big for me, but I don't mind. I have used it down to 25 degrees without being cold, as I just wear a hat, and actually put on long johns when it's that cold. I also burrow down in the bag when it's cold. I won't ever be in weather below 20 or so since I am a CPA and won't get to backpack in the winter.

Anyway, I am trying to decide my next bag/quilt purchase: light summer bag like this, knowing that I sleep warm? https://www.bigagnes.com/Products/Detail/Bag/pitchpinesl45

vs

an 20 or 30 degree EE quilt like this in wide, which I could use in all 3 seasons, and just stop using the Deer Park? http://www.enlightenedequipment.com/?product=revx-ready-ship

vs Montbell Super Spiral Down 30

vs

any other suggestions.

Hopefully a good discussion can ensue. Oh yeah, I am also trying to go lighter as I replace or add gear, so that is part of my motivation as well. Thanks!
      First Law of Physics for Backpackers: What goes down must come up.

I am a big fan of the Big Agnes bags. I roll around a lot. Having the air pad pinned in the sleeve is a must for me. Plus the lack of cloth on the back saves weight. There are many other better rated and more expensive bags, but I would stay in the Big Agnes line. All that is left is how warm a sleeper you are and down vs synthetic. Just my humble opinion.
      Non hikers are about a psi shy of a legal ball.